Nyuto Onsen Travel Guide

Nyuto Onsen is a hot springs area located at the foot of Mt. Nyuto in Semboku City, Akita Prefecture. The area is also designated as part of Towada-Hachimantai National Park.

Within Nyuto Onsen there are seven different hot springs. These include Tsuru-no-yu Onsen which has been in operation ever since the Edo period (1603-1868), and further behind the mountain is Kuroyu Onsen as well as Magoroku Onsen, which is called the ‘medical spring of the mountain’. The snow piles up high during winter, so you can enjoy an open air bath while gazing at the snowy landscape. Near the hot springs there are trekking courses you can enjoy, such as Mt.Akita-Komaga-take and the Forest of Thouars.

To get to Nyuto Onsen, take the JR Akita Shinkansen Line to Tazawako Station and from there take an Ugo Kotsu bus headed for Nyuto Onsen. If you are visiting by car, take the Tohoku Expressway to Morioka IC and from there it is a 1 hour drive. If you are visiting during the winter, please be careful while driving through the snow.

Tourism information: Nyuto Onsen

Map: Nyuto Onsen