Shikoku Travel Guide

The word ‘Shikoku’ in Japanese means ‘four provinces’ and, true to its name, the Shikoku region is an island composed of 4 different prefectures (Kagawa, Tokushima, Kochi, and Ehime Prefectures.) In recent years, a “Pilgrimage” around 88 different temples in different locations within Shikoku has been gaining popularity among visitors from overseas.

Kagawa Prefecture is located in the northeastern part of Shikoku. Here you will find the Marugame/Kotohira area which is famous for Kotohira-gu Shrine, as well as the Naoshima area which has art galleries all over the island.

Tokushima Prefecture is located in the eastern part of Shikoku. Every year in August the Tokushima area host the famous Awa Odori dance; another attraction in this region is the Naruto area which is known for its powerful whirlpool tides.

Of the 4 prefectures in Shikoku, Kochi Prefecture occupies the largest area. The Kochi area is the birthplace of Ryoma Sakamoto, known for his many contributions to the Meiji Restoration; as such, there are many locations in Kochi dedicated to him. In the Shimanto area you can enjoy many activities such as rafting in and around the Shimanto River, the largest river in Shikoku.

Ehime Prefecture is located in the northern part of Shikoku. In the Imabari/Simanami Kaido area, there is the Shimanami Kaido road which connects many islands floating in the Seto Inland Sea; this road is a very popular destination for travelling over the sea. There is also the Matsuyama area which has Dogo Onsen, famous for its connections to the author Natsume Soseki, and Matsuyama Castle.

Kagawa | Tokushima | Kochi | Ehime |